menu Allen County Schools
APES Program Underway for 30 Juniors
APES Program Underway for 30 Juniors

   An accountant, banker, human resource manager, councilman, investment broker, small business owner, investment specialist, marketing manager, and an e-commerce manager are sharing their expertise and experience with 30 Allen County-Scottsville High School juniors this week. The students are taking part in the annual American Private Enterprise System (APES) program---the 46th year for the program in Allen County.

   The students---selected by Allen County-Scottsville guidance counselors based on their academic achievements---listen to local and regional business professionals share presentations across a wide spectrum of topics related to business. This year’s presenters include Jason McKinney from McKinney-Woosley LLP, Rickie Huntsman from Farmers National Bank, Dana Russell from The J.M. Smucker Company, Scottsville councilman Dr. Franklin Foster from the government sector, Jonathan Ross from Edward Jones, Bob Pitchford from The Citizen-Times, Christi Turner from Summit Title Company, Amy Phelps from North Central Telephone Cooperative, and Jason Morgan of International Tax, Asurion.

   As part of the three-day program, the students also tour local business and service providers. This year’s tour stops include the Center for Courageous Kids, CPC Commodities, the Barefoot Republic Camp, Clifty Farms, and the Scottsville courthouse.

   Not only do the students gain a wealth of knowledge from the presenters and tours, the juniors take quiz’s over the presented material in order to earn “payday” cash rewards. Overall awards---made possible through cash donations from area businesses---are presented at the conclusion of the three days.

   This year’s APES participants from AC-SH include Sydney Ausbrooks, Kaylee Baldwin, Colton Barton, Lauren Bearden, Katelyn Bewley, Rachel Bomar, Charles Boucher, Hannah Bryant, Camden Carver, Hadley Celsor, Kaci Cline, Morgan Duvall, Rachel Foster, William Gregory, Aaron Howell, Caroline Jones, Colby LaFitte, Jackson Montgomery, Macy Pruitt, Jessie Radcliff, Cayden Ross, Jason Sikes, Tristan Skipworth, Megan Stinson, Nathaniel Stinson, Mason Towery, Macayla Vernon, Tiffany Wade, Macy Ward, and Madison Whittle. AC-SH seniors Aaron Borth, Lauren Riffe, and Kaleigh Shaw participated in the program last year and are serving as junior leaders this year.

   The APES program is sponsored by the University of Kentucky Cooperative Extension Service.  


go back
Print This Article
Allen County Board of Education
570 Oliver Street, Scottsville, KY
Phone: (270) 618-3181
Fax: (270) 618-3185
© 2018. CMS created by eSchoolView
district footer logo

back to top ↑

Allen County Schools
570 Oliver Street
Scottsville, KY

Call 270-618-3181
View text-based website