menu Allen County Schools
APES Scholarship Winners Announced
APES Scholarship Winners Announced

   Ten Allen County-Scottsville High School juniors will receive cash scholarships following their participation in the annual American Private Enterprise System (APES) program last week---an annual event sponsored by the University of Kentucky Cooperative Extension Service.


   Mason Towery will receive a $400 cash scholarship as the overall achiever in the three-day program. Additional $200 cash scholarship winners include Macayla Vernon, Lauren Bearden, Charles Boucher, Colton Barton, Katelyn Bewley, Rachel Bomar, Hannah Bryant, Jason Sikes, and William Gregory.


   The scholarships are possible through donations from local businesses. This year, $2,100 was donated for the scholarships—which may be used at any institute for higher learning following high school graduation.


   The program also presented eight participants with “Payday” rewards. Bearden, Bewley, Boucher, Bomar, Towery, Caroline Jones, Morgan Duvall, and Vernon earned from $5 to $15 dollars in rewards.


   In addition, Towery, Vernon, and Bearden will have the honor of representing Allen County at the Kentucky Youth Seminar in Lexington next summer. Alternates include Boucher, Barton, and Bewley.


   The APES award presentations last Friday included the recognition of Junior Leaders Aaron Borth, Lauren Riffe, and Kaleigh Shaw. Each leader receives a $100 college scholarship. Shaw was selected at the junior leader that will attend the Kentucky Youth Seminar next summer. In the event, Shaw cannot attend, Riffe will serve as her alternate.


   This year’s APES participants included Sydney Ausbrooks, Kaylee Baldwin, Colton Barton, Lauren Bearden, Katelyn Bewley, Rachel Bomar, Charles Boucher, Hannah Bryant, Camden Carver, Hadley Celsor, Kaci Cline, Morgan Duvall, Rachel Foster, William Gregory, Aaron Howell, Caroline Jones, Colby LaFitte, Jackson Montgomery, Macy Pruitt, Jessie Radcliff, Cayden Ross, Jason Sikes, Tristan Skipworth, Megan Stinson, Nathaniel Stinson, Mason Towery, Macayla Vernon, Tiffany Wade, Macy Ward, and Madison Whittle.

go back
Print This Article
Allen County Board of Education
570 Oliver Street, Scottsville, KY
Phone: (270) 618-3181
Fax: (270) 618-3185
© 2018. CMS created by eSchoolView
district footer logo

back to top ↑

Allen County Schools
570 Oliver Street
Scottsville, KY

Call 270-618-3181
View text-based website